Follow Us

TWAS-ROCASA Young Scientists' Conference: Infectious Diseases : Biology to Intervention Strategies, 21 June 2017


TWAS-ROSSA would like to request you to disseminate this call to young scientists in your networks and databases to apply to attend the TWAS Regional Office for Central & South Asia (TWAS-ROCASA) Young Scientists' Conference (see attached call). The conference will be held from 7-9 September 2017 in Bangalore, India.


The theme of the conference is Infectious Diseases : Biology to Intervention Strategies. All the TWAS-ROSSA nominated candidates will be fully sponsored by TWAS-ROCASA.  


The completed Registration form (from brochure), Proforma form and a proposed abstract according to the attached Brochure must be forwarded to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by Wednesday, 21 June 2017.


Applications/Nominations are invited from Science and Technology Lagging Countries (STLC) and Low Income African Countries (Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Dem. Rep, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Equatorial, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe).


 TWAS-ROCASA Brochure 2017

Proforma (for Foreign Participants)


Young Physician Leaders (YPL) Call for nominations 2017


The 2017 Young Physician Leaders programme (YPL) CALL FOR NOMINATIONS  is now online and once more we look forward to receiving excellent candidates from member academies.


To date,  IAP for Health has trained 132 such YPL, all of whom are top young professionals, under the age of 40, who were nominated by their national academies.  Their details can be found in the dedicated YPL Directory on our website.

The official announcement and the application form are also attached to this mail. Deadline for nominations is 30 June 2017.



YPL Nomination Form 2017

TWAS Research and Advanced Training Fellowship: 2017 Call for Applications


TWAS, the academy of sciences for the developing world,, is now accepting applications for the TWAS Research and Advanced Training Fellowship programme.

The fellowships are offered to scientists from developing countries and are tenable at centres of excellence in various developing countries.

Eligible fields include one or more of the following: agricultural and biological sciences, medical and health sciences, chemistry, engineering, astronomy, space and earth sciences, mathematics and physics.

Please see for the latest information regarding the above programme, including eligibility criteria, guidelines, etc.

Women scientists are especially encouraged to apply.
The closing date is 1 October 2017.


Application Form

The Africa Biosciences Challenge Fund (ABCF) Fellowship 2017/2018 Call for Applications



The Biosciences eastern and central Africa - International Livestock Research Institute (BecA-ILRI) Hub, located in Nairobi, Kenya, is a shared agricultural research and biosciences platform that exists to increase access for African researchers to affordable, world-class research facilities.  The mission of the BecA-ILRI Hub is “Mobilizing Bioscience for Africa’s Development” by providing a centre for excellence in agricultural biosciences, which enables research, capacity building and product incubation, conducted by scientists in Africa and for Africa, and empowers African institutions to harness innovations for regional impact.

This mission is achieved by the BecA–ILRI Hub’s contributions to:

  • Research: enabling research to harness the potential of the biosciences to contribute to increasing agricultural productivity and to improving food and nutritional safety and security.
  • Capacity building: Strengthening capacity of NARS to drive and accelerate high-end bioscience research and innovation in agriculture.
  • Education: contributing to the education and training of the next generation of African agricultural research leaders and scientists.
  • Innovation: promoting the development, delivery and adoption of new technologies to address key agricultural productivity constraints.

The BecA-ILRI Hub capacity building program is branded The Africa Biosciences Challenge Fund (ABCF). The ABCF program operates in the critically important intersection between agricultural research for development (ARD), food security, and individual and institutional capacity building. The ABCF program is delivered through: i) a visiting scientist program (the ABCF fellowship) targeting scientists from African national agricultural research organizations and universities to undertake biosciences research-for-development projects at the BecA-ILRI Hub; ii) annual training workshops to support the acquisition of practical skills in molecular biology, genomics, bioinformatics, laboratory management, laboratory safety, equipment maintenance and scientific writing; iii) mobilizing national and regional capacities for joint action; and iv) supporting and strengthening the capacity of national agricultural research systems  (NARS) to deliver on their research for development agenda.


For more details:

Call for Nominations for the TWAS Regional Prize 2017: Public Understanding and Popularization of Science_20 June 2017

The World Academy of Sciences Regional Office for sub-Saharan Africa (TWAS-ROSSA) invites you to nominate suitable candidates for the TWAS Regional Prize. TWAS-ROSSA seeks to honor an outstanding scientist who has made significant contributions to popularize science, and has developed new strategies that serve the popularization of science and technology in the developing world. The prize is awarded in fulfillment of the TWAS objective of recognizing, supporting and promoting scientific capacity and excellence in the developing world. The ideal candidate would meet at least one of the following criteria:


·         Scientific research achievement of outstanding significance for the development of scientific thought.

·         Outstanding contribution to the application of Science and Technology to industry or to human well-being in the developing world.


The award comprises an award certificate with a citation on the winner’s scientific achievement, as well as a cash prize of 3000 USD. The winner will be announced at the Annual TWAS General Assembly and Conference. The prize will be awarded formally by TWAS-ROSSA at a suitable event thereafter.  


Nominations are invited from TWAS and AAS Fellows, Fellows/Members of National Academies and Young Academies in the region, Research Institutions, Research Councils and Universities in the region. The nomination of women and scientists from Science and Technology Lagging Countries (STLC’s) is highly encouraged.


The regional office also request you to further disseminate this call to your databases and network in sub-Saharan Africa.


The completed nomination form and the supporting documents must be submitted to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by 20 June 2017.



TWAS Regional Prize- Nomination Form 2017

TWAS Regional Prize 2017_Public Understanding and Popularization of Sciences